SHINE 2011 Presentations & Posters

Plenary Talks

Monday July 11th, Paul Bellaire: PDF, PPT

Tuesday July 12th, 2011, Vahe Petrosian: PDF

Wednesday July 13th, 2011, Leif Svalgaard: PDF, PPT

Working Group Leaders

Ben Chandran   benjamin.chandran@unh.edu
Stanislav Boldyrev   boldyrev@wisc.edu
Matt Hill   Matthew.Hill@jhuapl.edu
Hilary Cane   hilary.cane@utas.edu.au
Stephen White   white@astro.umd.edu
Joe Borovsky   jborovsky@lanl.gov
Nick Arge   Nick.Arge@Kirtland.af.mil
Dennis Haggerty   dennis.haggerty@jhuapl.edu
Tom Intrator   intrator@lanl.gov
John Podesta   jpodesta@lanl.gov
Carl Henney   Carl.Henney@Kirtland.af.mil
Justin Edmondson   justin.k.edmondson@jpl.nasa.gov
Giovanni Lapenta   giovanni.lapenta@wis.kuleuven.be
Rich Frazin   rfrazin@umich.edu
Mihir Desai   mdesai@swri.edu
Scott McIntosh   mscott@ucar.edu
Bart De Pontieu   bdp@lmsal.com
Ron Turner   Ron.Turner@anser.orgu
Dan Fry   dan.j.fry@nasa.gov
David Falconer   david.a.falconer@nasa.gov
Keith Strong   keith.strong@nasa.gov
Julia Saba   jlrsaba@verizon.net
NoĆ© Lugaz   nlugaz@ifa.hawaii.edu
Marc DeRosa   derosa@lmsal.com
Lan Jian   jlan@igpp.ucla.edu
Chuck Smith   chuck@briaxa.sr.unh.edu
Joan Burkepile   iguana@hao.ucar.edu
Antoun Daou   agdaou@rice.edu

Working Group Introductions

Assessing the Contribution of Heliospheric Imaging in Improving Space Weather Prediction (PPTX)

Coronal Magnetic Fields: What are we learning from CoMP? (PPTX)

The Role of Magnetic Geometry and Reconnection in the Origin of the Slow Solar Wind (PDF)

The Rise of Solar Cycle 24: Magnetic fields from the dynamo through the photosphere and corona and connecting to the heliosphere (PPT)

What is a Coronal Hole? (PDF)

The Nature of CMEs: Heliospheric properties from remote-sensing observations and their relationship to in situ signatures (PPT)

Comparing and Validating Models of the Corona and Inner Heliosphere (PPTX)

Bridging the Great Divide: Linking the Solar Dynamo to the Dynamic Heliosphere (Meisch) (PDF)

Bridging the Great Divide: Linking the Solar Dynamo to the Dynamic Heliosphere (Cohen) (PPT)

Dissipation of Solar Wind Turbulence (PPTX)

Particle Acceleration and Transport in Flares and Their Relation to SEP Events (PPTX)

SEPs (PPTX)

Flare Classification in the Era of Global Coverage of the Sun (PPTX)

Working Group Summaries

Monday July 11th, 2011

What IS a Coronal Hole? (PDF)

The Nature of CMEs: Heliospheric properties from remote-sensing observations and their relationship to in situ signatures (Lugaz) (PPT)

The Nature of CMEs: Heliospheric properties from remote-sensing observations and their relationship to in situ signatures (Rouland) (PPTX)

Bridging the Great Divide: Linking the Solar Dynamo to the Dynamic Heliosphere (PDF)

Tuesday July 12th, 2011

Bridging the Great Divide: Linking the Solar Dynamo to the Dynamic Heliosphere (PPT)

Particle Acceleration and Transport in Flares and Their Relation to SEP Events (PDF)

The Role of Magnetic Geometry and Reconnection in the Origin of the Slow Solar Wind (PPTX)

The Nature of CMEs: Heliospheric properties from remote-sensing observations and their relationship to in situ signatures (PPT)

McIntosh Summary (KEYNOTE)

Wednesday July 13th, 2011

The Rise of Solar Cycle 24: Magnetic fields from the dynamo through the photosphere and corona and connecting to the heliosphere (PPT)

Comparing and Validating Models of the Corona and Inner Heliosphere (PPTX)

Coronal Mass Ejections without Photospheric/Chromospheric Signatures (PPTX)

Thursday July 14th, 2011

The Rise of Solar Cycle 24: Magnetic fields from the dynamo through the photosphere and corona and connecting to the heliosphere (PPT)

Causes of the Wide Longitude Signatures of Solar Energetic Particle Events (PDF)

Assessing the Contribution of Heliospheric Imaging in Improving Space Weather Prediction (PPTX)

The Dissipation of Solar Wind Turbulence (PDF)

Mini Posters

(mini)poster Cannon PUI Waves

(mini)poster Joyce Bernstein

(mini)poster Joyce He

(mini)poster Meredith Automated Shocks

(mini)poster Smith Dissipation Range

(mini)poster Smith KAW

(mini)poster Smith Solar Source

(mini)poster Stawarz Third Moments

(mini)poster Stemkowski Maltese Cross

(mini)poster Tessein CIRs

2011-SHINE-Reeves

Altrock.SummaryCycle24

AltrockSummaryTOactivity

Bao_Ha_Shine2011

BJ_SHINE_2011_summary

Christina_Kay_intro_slide

Falconer SHINE

GHF-poster-preview

John_SHINE_2011_summary_11th

John_SHINE_2011_summary_12th

NADA_poster

share_1page

shine agu advert

SHINE'11_PosterSummaries

shine2011_singleSlide_Titov

Strachan_SHINE11_Summary

TAK_CHU_LI_intro_slide

Tulasi_Parashar_summary_slide

Xi_Luo_intro_slide

Xiang_Zhai_intro_slide

Student Intro Slides

Bridging the Great Divide

Chintzoglou_SHINE2011_singleslide

maria_weber_intro_slide

Nishu_Karna_intro_slide

Comparing and Validating Models

LIJIA_GUO__intro_slide

Meng_Jin_intro_slide

The Role of Magnetic Geometry

Micah_Weberg_SHINE_single_slide

Zhenguang_Huang_intro_slide

Assessing the Contribution of Heliospheric Imaging

Colaninno_Robin_intro_slide

The Nature of Coronal Mass Ejections

Amaal_intro_slide

CALUM_MEREDITH_intro_slide2

Christina_Kay_SHINE2011_PosterSummary

Pedro_corona-romero_a

JACOB_GRUESBECK_intro_slide

nada_intro_slide

Jason Byrne

TATIANA_NIEMBRO__intro_slide

Xin_cheng

Particle Acceleration and Transport

Fan_Guo_SHINE2011-oneslide_FanGuo

KAMEN_KOZAREV_intro_slide

What is a Coronal Hole?

hui_tian_intro

Nishu_Karna_intro_slide

SHEA_HESS_WEBBER_intro_slide

The Dissipation of Solar Wind Turbulence

JEFFREY_TESSEIN_intro_slide

JOSHUA_STAWARZ_intro_slide

KRIS_KLEIN_intro_slide

MATTHEW_STEMKOWSKI_intro_slide

Qian_Xia_intro_slide

Rohit_Chhiber_intro

Rona_Oran_intro_slide

The Rise of Solar Cycle 24

CALUM_MEREDITH_intro_slide1

Other

Bao_Ha_Shine2011-SingleSlide

Cannon_SHINE2011_SingleSlide

COLIN_JOYCE_intro_slide

COOPER_DOWNS_intro_slide

ELENA_PROVORNIKOVA_intro_slide

Eve_Stenson_introslide_SHINE2011

gershman_shine2011_postersummary

JEFFREY_REEP_intro_slide

PHILLIP_HESS_intro_slide

schoefflercoverpage

Tom_Broiles_one_slide_intro

ZACHARY_TOBIN_intro_slide

Aram_Panasenco_SHINE_introductory slide

Chunming_Zhu_intro_slide_SHINE2011

JOEL_DAHLIN_intro_slide

Kostas_Horaites_intro_slide

peera_pongkitiwanichakul_intro_slide

 

Important Links